Police Department

  • Print

Chief of Police

South Houston Chief of PoliceThe Chief of Police, Enrique Guzman, leads the department of 30 officers, 3 reserve officers and 10 support personnel. The Department operates on an annual budget, which the Chief of Police must develop and oversee. The Chief of Police must be responsible for the daily operations of the entire department and also maintain the positive morale of the staff. The Chief of Police must continue to promote progress, make effective decisions and work cooperatively with other department heads within the City and maintain working relationships with surrounding police agencies. The Chief of Police must continue to have an open and accessible line of communication with the officers and the community.

Mission Statement

The mission of the South Houston Police Department, in cooperation with our community is to protect life and property, and enhance the quality of life for all of our citizens. We, the members of the South Houston Police Department, are committed to excellence in law enforcement and are dedicated to the people, traditions and diversity of our city. The foundation of this department is defined by it's members' efficiency, honesty, and courage.

Agency History

The city of South Houston's first evidence of Law Enforcement was a City Marshall. The office was formed in early 1943 and was abolished in 1956. At that time the office of Chief of Police was created, thus the establishment of a Police Department was formed.

The Police Department was housed in the still existing City Hall building. The Police Department consisted of the Chief's office, a dispatch room, 2 prisoner cells or approximately 588 square feet of space.

Everything in the Police Department was done by hand. All reports and logs were hand written. Of course, the Police Department did not employ many officers, 4 dispatchers and 7 reserve officers.

In 1984 the existing Police force petitioned the City Council to go under Civil Service Laws. The City Fathers refused to adopt Civil Service Laws for the Police Department, so the force went on a 6 month tour to get the Civil Service Laws put on the next regular scheduled election so the citizens of South Houston could vote on the issue. The issue was placed on the ballot at the next election and the citizens of South Houston passed the referendum by an 84% margin. Civil Service Laws, 1269M, or better known now as the Civil Service Laws, Chapter 143 of the Local Government Code went into effect in October 1984.

In 1987 the Police Department officially moved from the still existing City Hall building to across the street. The Police Department remodeled the existing building at 1023 Dallas St. where it housed a 14,000 square foot, 2 story building. The Police Department had 6 jail cells and a detox. tank. The complete jail housed 24 prisoners and is jail certified by State of Texas standards.

On May 30, 2013 we moved into our new Police Department at 1101 Dallas Street.  This building is twice the size of the old police department, houses a state of the art dispatch center.

At present in 2014 the Police Department consists of 32 full time officers, plus the Chief of Police, 4 reserve officers, 6 dispatchers and 3 record clerks. The Police Department now has a narcotics unit, bike patrol officer and a DWI Task Force. If you broke this down by classification they are as follows: 1 Chief, 2 Captains (1 patrol and 1 administration), 7 Sergeants (5 patrol, 1 detective and 1 training) 17 officers assigned to patrol and 5 officers assigned to the detective division.

The patrol cars are all equipped with wi-fi enabled computers, audio and visual equipment. The Police Department presently has 8 officers with Instructors' certification on its staff and 9 with a Master Peace Officer Certification, the highest certification presently awarded by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education.

The Police Department can still foresee many changes forthcoming in the future as we merge into the 21st century.